Google will soon let you auto-delete your location and web history

Share

Everyone who uses Google services, whether on iPhone or Android, will soon be able to have some of the data being collected about them automatically erased after a span of time.

"We work to keep your data private and secure, and we've heard your feedback that we need to provide simpler ways for you to manage or delete it", Google said.

The new feature will roll out in the coming weeks.

Currently, you can go in and manually delete your activity data at any time. This implies the company intends to enable automatic timed deletion of all the data Google has stored about users.

Golden Knights GM says league apologized for Game 7 penalty call
Cody Eakin was given a major penalty for cross-checking Joe Pavelski , who fell to the ice bleeding and needed to be helped off. The Golden Knights' season ended in a 5-4 overtime loss to the San Jose Sharks in Game 7 of the first round Tuesday.

Australia's One Nation politician Steve Dickson resigns over strip club footage
Dickson resigned on Tuesday morning after the footage was released on Monday evening's episode of 'A Current Affair' . One Nation party head Pauline Hanson confirmed on Tuesday that Mr Dickson's actions was "unacceptable".

Meghan Markle Supports Kate Middleton in Prince Williams Cheating Rumor Scandal?
Of course, we know the new little one will not only be a British citizen but will also be seventh in line for the throne. For example, Meghan Markle will give her child a very meaningful gift, and it has a very sweet backstory.

Google and fellow online ad giant Facebook Inc have become some of the most-valuable companies in history by collecting billions of data points on billions of people and selling targeted access to advertisers.

The Location History feature is turned off by default in all accounts, but an Associated Press investigation discovered in August 2018 that even when turned off, the feature, on a smartphone, continues to track users' movements regardless. This will give users the option to delete old searches, location history, and other activity, either after three months or a year and a half. An example of Google's use for your location history is to suggest restaurants it thinks you'll like based on your previous restaurant visits.

This information is all logged as part of the 'Web and App Activity feature, which does not specifically reference location information in its description.

When paused, it will prevent activity on any device from being saved to your account.

Share